The Da Vinci Code

Svibanj 30, 2006

Besides the concerts, I was in the cinema yesterday to see The Da Vinci Code. I've read the book a week or two after the Croatian translation was out of the press, and I have to say I'm not impressed – at all. Although the movie is better than the book (IMHO, of course), it's still far from what I'd call good. If you take away the controversial topics out of the book and the film, or simply view them as the main motivation for the whole story, I believe you have a less-than-average book and solid two and half hours of Hollywood entertainment. The ending is equally long and boring in both the book and the movie, but at least I don't have to read Brown's bad writing style in the movie.

Now, I won't deny the fact that the plot is certainly exciting (well, to one point at least), but it's a thriller – it would be even worse if it wasn't. And I'm not saying that Brown is a lousy writer (I haven't read any of his other works yet, so I can't judge him), but the book isn't really a masterpiece when it comes to the writing style. I certainly don't see any reason for the whole fuss around The Da Vinci Code. There are loads of other books and movies out there that deserve the attention of the public and have much more artistic value. Even with Tom Hanks in the lead role. :-) 

Odgovori

