The Stuff I’ve Been Listening To Lately…

Travanj 20, 2006

Although I listen to a lot of music every day, there are a few bands that really caught my attention in the last few weeks… They're pretty diverse, so I think there's something for everyone in here…

The first of them is Death Cab For Cutie. It's a great indie-pop band with really nice melodies, although the vocals can be irritating sometimes, especially on the first few listens. I've listened to their album "Transatlanticism" and a few other songs – I'd say the song Photobooth stands out.

A bit more conventional, but nonetheless great is Keane. Piano-oriented (alternative) pop/rock – not really something I'd usually listen to (although the last Coldplay album rocks :)), but these guys are great. A friend of mine gave me the album "Hopes and Fears" and it kicks ass :). The song This Is The Last Time has some really nice melodies, and the whole album has a bit of a theatrical sound.

Modest Mouse is an emo / indie rock band, but they do experiment a bit. Their debut, "The Moon & Antrarctica" is a bit strange and tiresome at moments, but after a few listens, everything fits in almost perfectly. The friend responsible for the introduction to Keane is responsible for this one too, and I'd like to thank him for that :). The songs The Cold Part and Gravity Rides Everything would be my reccommendations.

The last, but definitely not the least, is an Australian post rock band, Clann Zu. Combining noise, post rock, Australian native (etno) music and interesting melodies with strange vocals, they created an impressive piece of music called "Black Coats And Bandages." I consider this a must-listen for every fan of experimental and/or post rock. The songs So Complicated Was The Fall and From an Unholy Height are just beautiful.

There you go… I hope you find something for your listening pleasure. Enjoy!

Jedan odgovor to “The Stuff I’ve Been Listening To Lately…”

  1. polina Says:

    i love deathcab for cutie. i think you’d like the format. (or maybe you already do.)

    your blog’s cool.

    see you around! :D


Odgovori

