target=”_tab”

Prosinac 11, 2005

Tabbed browsing in actionAs a person who uses the Internet daily, and as someone who reads through dozens of websites per day, I learned to appreciate tabbed browsing. I couldn't stand the tought of being without my tabs and I completely forgot about the "Open Link in New Window" option.

As a web developer, I'd like to see tabbed browsing as a browser standard – something every browser should have by default. I really like the thought of being able to open links in new tabs, instead of new windows. Tabs aren't so intrusive and they don't clutter your desktop – that's a big advantage. Sometimes you just need to open that link in another window (or, shall I say, tab), and you just know it'll get on someone's nerves. Now, I'm not trying to say the tabs are the Absolute Solution to this problem, but I believe they are more appropriate and less annoying.

And should I even mention how nice it would be if the Document Object Model would reflect this change… :)

2 Odgovora to “target=”_tab””

  1. Bojan Says:

    I too had an idea like that a while back, but soon realized it’s wrong. Why? If forcing the opening a link in a new window is wrong, then this is, too. Nothing should be forced and it should be up to the user to decide, wouldn’t you agree?

    BTW, I’m sure you know, Firefox has the option to open external links in a new tab.

  2. zweistein Says:

    Yup, you’re right. But, then again, when you’re writing an intranet web app, opening a link in a new window is sometimes neccessary… And why not open a new tab instead of a new window? :)

    And yes – I’m aware of the feature, and it’s unreplaceable :).


Odgovori

